We make maths fun and exciting
For toddlers and pre-schoolers


Policy in Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The EYFS sets the standards for learning, development and care for all our children from birth to five years. Numbers Nursery playgroups are designed to follow the Mathematics element of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS 2012), however our playgroups also help children’s learning and development in many other areas.

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development. Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.

For more information regarding the EYFS, it can be found at:

This policy was adopted by staff on 16/02/16.